Resignation

city.jpg

Rain is falling from the sky
and I am getting wet.
If I don’t get some shelter soon
I’m sure to catch my det.

Feel free to soak these worthless bones
and make my marrow jella.
I know that I deserve to die
for the lack of an umbrella.

Come, hurricanoes, strike me down,
I don’t deserve to live.
I’m just a soggy reprobate
that no one should forgive.

Strike me down, I’m just a clown
who went without a hat,
Even the cat remembered his hat,
but me? — not even that!

So I go to my grave quite willingly,
I know it’s for the best.
Every man must pay the price,
For neglecting to wear a vest.


 

Leave a Reply

