On set

I was dancing with Begonia
at Clampton’s Jamboree,
when little Herbie Dewhurst
came sidling up to me.

I said ‘Fie upon thee, Dewhurst,
don’t interrupt the dance.’
He said ‘Someone has to tell you
that Rome is not in France.’

Well he looked at me and I could see
the code word in his eye.
Not for nothing Herb rose fast
in the FBI.

I said ‘Adieu, Begonia,
and thank you for the dance.
I must away to save the day
— no time for sweet romance.’

Herb and I are actors, see?
Did you get that bit yet?
And Clampton’s Jamboree
is just a corny movie set.


 

Leave a Reply

